“Fearless (Taylor’s Version)”



“Fearless (Taylor’s Version)” takes back Swift’s hit album and truly makes it her own.

Nessah Wendt, Columnist

After 13 years of success, Taylor Swift re-released her classic album, “Fearless (Taylor’s Version).” It includes Taylor’s old music such as “Love Story” and “You Belong With Me,” while also containing some “From the Vault” songs such as “Mr. Perfectly Fine” and “You All Over Me.” The album also includes reimagined classics like “Forever & Always (Piano Version).”

When the original “Fearless” came out in 2008, Taylor Swift only had one album released and wasn’t very popular yet. However, it would later go on to sell over 10 million copies and win a Grammy for album of the year. Now, 13 years and 8 more albums later, Taylor Swift re-released the old classic. In the first 24 hours, “Fearless (Taylor’s Version)” has sold over 500,000 copies. According to Forbes, “Fearless (Taylor’s Version)” is the first of six albums Taylor Swift plans to re-record.

Now, you may be wondering why Taylor Swift would re-record her old albums in the first place. Well, it’s a pretty interesting story. Taylor’s previous albums and record label were sold to media executive Scooter Braun without her consent. In response, Swift stated she would remake her previous six albums in order to own them herself. It allows for her to remaster her previous classics, while furthering her goal of owning her creations. It also allows for fans to relive the nostalgia of these older songs. New University states that Taylor Swift re-recorded her albums for more than profit and has enjoyed reliving the era when she wrote the original songs. Taylor Swift told Variety in an interview, “Well, I do sleep well at night knowing that I’m right, and knowing that in 10 years it will have been a good thing that I spoke about artists’ rights to their art and that we bring up conversations like: Should record deals maybe be for a shorter term, or how are we really helping artists if we’re not giving them the first right of refusal to purchase their work if they want to?”

Aside from her reasoning for the re-recording, Taylor Swift is including the songs from “Fearless” and “Fearless Platinum Edition”. She also added six new “From the Vault” songs including “You All Over Me,” “Mr. Perfectly Fine,” “We Were Happy,” “That’s When (feat. Keith Urban),” “Don’t You,” and “Bye Bye Baby.” She says that these “From the Vault” songs are some songs that were going to be on the original album, but had to be cut for one reason or another. Taylor Swift told People “But yeah, I did go in line by line and listen to every single vocal and think, you know, what are my inflections here. If I can improve upon it, I did. But I really did want this to be very true to what I initially thought of and what I had initially written. But better. Obviously.” Luckily, she tried to keep all changes subtle in order to keep the nostalgia while also exploring her matured vocals.

“Fearless (Taylor’s Version)” is a great new addition to Taylor’s albums. It includes many amazing songs, and it has a meaningful purpose. This is the first of many re-recorded albums to come, and fans can expect to see many more reimagined classics, along with some new tunes.